top of page

Poem: Winter

Naked bare brown branches Dry rough and unwelcoming A cold wind blows against my skin The ripples of my scalf blows in the breeze The fog clouds the area The mist covers my way The dew nests in its place Oh winter buries me in, like a flower buried in snow What can I say? What can I Do? I'm not wanted here... I take one step forward, only to pause and glance back That longing feeling overwhelms me My heart breaks with each tear drop Bursting in a weep, I run, running faster than I've ever ran I can't breath. Catching my breath in a moment. With my eyes closed I begin to imagine... How you used to put your palm on my cheek I would always feel so safe whenever I felt your touch I remember how you'd say "Fair One"... "My fair one" When I read or heard "my" it came with so much ownership I felt like I belong Oh how I wish you would run after me How I wish you would stop me right in my tracks How I wish you would want me... Choose me. I want you to choose me. This journey of escape would be easy if I didn't want you to choose me. Now it's a hot mess because I want to be chosen. Poem written by Elizabeth Ramadikela 


   Recent Posts
bottom of page